John J. Dunphy
1 min readNov 12, 2021

The Time I Almost Got Religion

by

John J. Dunphy

(Originally published in Scifaikuest, November 2021)

She was dressed entirely in black leather: skin-tight pants, boots and a corset revealing plenty of cleavage.”Would you like to pray with me?” she asked.”Uh, sure,” I replied. “I’ll pray with you.” So I’m an agnostic, but I’d be crazy to turn down an invitation to pray

with a babe like this, I thought. Maybe she regards praying as foreplay.

I mentaly revise

the Lord’s prayer

“…lead me into temptation..”

We left the fetish club holding hands, and walked for several blocks through the grimiest alleys I’d ever seen.

dumpster

a feral cat emerges

with a carcass

She halted when we came upon a sleeping wino. “Ready to pray?” she asked. So we’re going to pray for this smelly old wino, I thought. What a waste of time.She then pulled out a knife from each boot,handed one to me, and said,”You go first.”

That’s when I realized she had asked me to prey with her.

fleeing

behind me I hear

pursuit footsteps

*****

John J. Dunphy published scifaiku collections include Stellar Possibilities and Dark Nebulae.

John J. Dunphy

John J. Dunphy owns The Second Reading Book Shop in Alton, IL USA. Google him to learn more about this enigmatic person who is such a gifted writer and poet.